Back to Appointments Guides

This guide applies to:

  • Basic Edition
  • Plus Edition
  • Pro Edition
  • Business Edition

Introduction

An overview of how Admins, Team Members, and Customers can go about changing their booked appointments – such as Canceling, Rescheduling, Editing, and Deleting.

There are currently five different ways that a booked appointment can be changed:

  • Appointment Details Page
  • Notification link
  • Confirmation screen
  • Google Invite
  • Upcoming Appointments module

Team Members also have a detailed look at how to manage their appointments in our Viewing Team Bookings guide.


Appointment Details Page

Applies to Admins and Team Members.

To change booked appointments as an Admin or Team Member, go to the SSA Admin Appointments Page > Appointments tab. Here you can see a list of your Upcoming Appointments.

Click on the Appointment you’d like to Cancel or Delete and click the Appointment Details page.

You can Cancel, Edit, Reschedule or Delete the Appointment using the Menu (three dots) button in the top-right corner.

Highlighting the Appointment Actions links in the Appointment Details Page
Access the Appointment Actions from two locations – dropdown menu on top-right corner and using the Reschedule/Cancel link listed under the Booking Information.

Canceling and Deleting Appointments

Canceling an appointment can trigger the cancellation notifications – if there are any set up in your Notification settings.

Deleting only removes the appointment from your Appointment listing. It won’t trigger any notifications

  • You can only Delete past Appointments
  • You can Cancel or Delete future Appointments

Rescheduling and Editing Appointments

When you choose Edit, you’ll see the booking form and you’re able to edit all the fields.

To reschedule an appointment choose the ‘Edit as Customer’ option in the dropdown. This will open a lightbox that gives you three options: Reschedule, Edit or Cancel.

When you choose to Reschedule, the booking calendar for that appointment type opens and you can choose from any open time slots.

After rescheduling, you’ll see a Canceled appointment for the old-time slot and a new appointment for the new time you chose. This means that you could potentially receive two notifications — one for the cancelation and one for the new booking.

Managing Group Appointments

The Group booking feature is included in all of the paid editions using the Capacity feature.

The Menu (three dots) in the top-right corner will give you the option to:

  • Export all the attendees
  • Cancel the entire Group appointment – all attendees can get notified, if you have cancellation notifications setup
  • Delete the entire Group appointment – remove the listing from the Appointments page.

You’ll also see a list of attendees listed with their Name, Email, Appointment Details link, and Cancelation link. You can also cancel, reschedule, delete, or edit each individual attendee with their Appointment Details link.

Opening the Menu in the Group Appointments Details Page

Notification Link

Applies to Admins (If added), Team Member (If added), and Customers.

The default confirmation email for the customer contains a link to Edit, Cancel, or Reschedule their Appointment. Each link is unique to the booked appointment.

When you click the link, you’ll see a screen that looks very similar to the appointment confirmation screen with three options at the bottom.

  • Edit Information: Returns the customer to the customer information screen to edit their booking form (name, email, etc)
  • Reschedule: Lets the customer to select a new date and time. After picking a new date, the old date and time cancel automatically
  • Cancel Appointment: Lets the customer cancel the appointment
Clicking on the edit, cancel, or reschedule link in the notification

Notification link for admins and team members

An Admin or team member could also add this link to their own confirmation emails by adding in the Twig Code Template to their notification:

{{ Appointment.public_edit_url }}

Confirmation Screen

Applies to Customers.

When a customer gets to the booking Confirmation screen, they’ll see four options available at the bottom of the screen.

Customers will be able to:

  • Edit Information: Returns the customer to the customer information screen to edit their booking form (name, email, etc)
  • Reschedule: Lets the customer select a new date and time. After picking a new date, the plugin cancels the old date and time automatically
  • Cancel Appointment: Lets the customer cancel the appointment
  • Schedule a New Appointment: Takes the customer back to the initial screen to book an entirely new appointment
booked appointments confirmation
Changing Booked Appointments not the Confirmation Screen

Hide Buttons from the Confirmation Screen with CSS

Make sure to add the CSS in SSA Settings > Styles > Custom CSS field. If you’d like to learn more see our guide on adding custom CSS to Simply Schedule Appointments.

Reschedule Only

/* Hide the 'reschedule' button on confirmation screen */
body .confirm .appointment-reschedule-button {
display: none;
}

Cancel Only

/* Hide the 'cancel appointment' button on the confirmation screen */
body .confirm .appointment-cancel-button {
display: none;
}

Both

/* Hide the 'reschedule' button on confirmation screen */
body .confirm .appointment-reschedule-button {
display: none;
}

/* Hide the 'cancel appointment' button on the confirmation screen */
body .confirm .appointment-cancel-button {
display: none;
}

Cancel/Reschedule Screen

Applies to Customers.

The default notification message customers receive includes a link to Cancel/Reschedule their booked appointment.

When customers click the link they’ll have the options to:

  • Edit Information: Returns the customer to the customer information screen to edit their booking form (name, email, etc)
  • Reschedule: Lets the customer select a new date and time. After picking a new date, the plugin cancels the old date and time automatically
  • Cancel Appointment: Lets the customer cancel the appointment
Cancel or Reschedule appointment screen
Appointment Actions on the Cancel/Reschedule Screen

Hide Buttons from the Cancel/Reschedule Screen with CSS

Make sure to add the CSS in SSA Settings > Styles > Custom CSS field. If you’d like to learn more see our guide on adding custom CSS to Simply Schedule Appointments.

Reschedule Only

/* Hide the 'reschedule' button on cancellation screen */
.md-card-actions.cancellation-actions .appointment-reschedule-button { 
display: none; 
}

Cancel Only

/* Hide the 'cancel appointment' button on cancellation screen */
.md-card-actions.cancellation-actions .appointment-cancel-button { 
display: none; 
}

Both

/* Hide the 'reschedule' button on cancellation screen */
.md-card-actions.cancellation-actions .appointment-reschedule-button { 
display: none; 
}

/* Hide the 'cancel appointment' button on cancellation screen */
.md-card-actions.cancellation-actions .appointment-cancel-button { 
display: none; 
}

Google Invite

Applies to Admins, Team Members, and Customers (If added).

If you have the Google Invites feature turned on, the admin, customer, and team members will have access to the link to Edit, Cancel, or Reschedule from the appointment’s Google Calendar Event.

The Google Calendar Event shows the link under, “Need to make changes to this event?“.

Google Calendar Event generated from appointment

Upcoming Appointments Module

Applies to Customers.

If your customers have an account on your website, you can also embed the Upcoming Appointments module into their profile page. This will list out their booked appointments and allow them to edit each one individually.

This is for customers only, this is not a way for admins or team members to see their booked appointments through the front-end.


Still stuck?

File a support ticket with our five-star support team to get more help.

File a ticket

  • Please provide any information that will be helpful in helping you get your issue fixed. What have you tried already? What results did you expect? What did you get instead?
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Related Guides