Back to Troubleshooting Guides

This guide applies to:

  • Basic Edition
  • Plus Edition
  • Pro Edition
  • Business Edition

Introduction

This guide is going to show you how to purge (delete) old or abandoned/canceled appointments. This is helpful if you’re a high-traffic site that books a lot of appointments – over time you may see that the booking plugin can slow down due to the accumulation of data.

Purging your old and abandoned appointment data will help improve performance.


How to Purge Appointments

Go to the Simply Schedule Appointments Settings page > scroll to the bottom and click on Developer > go to the Developer Jobs tab.

Toggle the options that you’d like to purge:

  • Past appointments: This will delete all of your past appointments starting from today.
  • Abandoned appointments: This will delete all of your Canceled and Abandoned status appointments.

If you don’t select any options, you’ll receive an error message when you click on the Purge Now button: Nothing to delete.

When selecting one or both options, click on Purge Now.

Next you’ll need to confirm your selection. The message says, “This process will remove appointments from the database and you won’t be able to recover them. A .csv file containing all deleted appointments will be generated at the end of this process.”.

When you’re ready click, Confirm.

Finally, you’ll see one last popup to let you know that the process was successful. From here you’ll also get a chance to download the CSV containing all of the deleted appointments.

Purging Old and Abandoned Appointments

Still stuck?

File a support ticket with our five-star support team to get more help.

File a ticket

  • Please provide any information that will be helpful in helping you get your issue fixed. What have you tried already? What results did you expect? What did you get instead?
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


Related Guides