Back to Troubleshooting & Questions Guides

This guide applies to:

  • Basic Edition
  • Plus Edition
  • Pro Edition
  • Business Edition

Introduction

If you’re moving to a new WordPress site, this guide explains how to copy over your appointments and settings from Simply Schedule Appointments using the Import and Export feature.

Using our Import and Export feature, you can do this all within our plugin and it’s a matter of just copy and pasting our generated code.


Open the Import and Export Page

To open the Import/Export feature go to the SSA Settings page, scroll all the way to the bottom. You’ll see a link that says Import/Export.

Opening the Import/Export Feature

Export Your Settings and Appointments

Start by exporting the settings and appointments in your old site.

Under the Export tab, you’ll see 3 different checkboxes. You can choose whether you want to export:

Settings: Your general settings, blackout dates, notifications, and styles. If you’ve setup any paid features, those settings are also exported.

All Appointment Types: Your Appointment type settings, like availability and scheduling options. Requires you to export Settings.

All Appointments: All your past and upcoming appointments from all your appointment types. Requires you export your Settings and Appointment Types.

After selecting the checkboxes, click Generate Code. A long code snippet will be shown in the box.

Use the Copy to Clipboard option to easily copy the entire snippet.

Exporting Settings and Appointments

Importing to Your New Site

After copying the code snippet, go to your new site and go to the Import/Export feature.

Under the Import tab, there’ll be a field box where you can paste in the code.

When you paste in the code, the Import button will enable and you can begin importing.

Importing my Settings and Appointments

How Importing Works – Be Careful!

Importing overwrites all the settings and appointments that exist in your new site’s Simply Schedule Appointments install.

For example, let’s assume you used to have an old site with SSA appointments and settings. But, in your new site you started booking appointments already.

You decide you want to merge the two together in your new site. You import all the appointments and settings from your old site to your new site.

Here’s the catch, all your new site’s settings and appointments will be gone in this scenario 🙁

Just make sure you’re careful when you import, and make sure you know the consequences. Unfortunately there’s no way to recover the overwritten data.


Still stuck?

File a support ticket with our five-star support team to get more help.

File a ticket

  • Please provide any information that will be helpful in helping you get your issue fixed. What have you tried already? What results did you expect? What did you get instead?
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Related Guides